Learning to Rely on Jesus


Book Review:
 
33 Days to Morning Glory by Father Michael Gaitley (Marian Press, 2011)

Reviewer: Phyllis Sadowskimorning-glory

This book offers a personal retreat which brings the reader closer to Jesus through Mary. Father Gaitley will take you on a spiritual journey with guides such as St. Louis De Montfort, St. Maximilian Kolbe, St. Teresa of Calcutta and St. John Paul II.

What grace did you receive after reading this book? This book introduced me to the practice of devotional prayer, that is prayer without intentions attached. Not that I never ask for anything; rather, I sometimes pray knowing that Mary will take care of the intention.

What changed in your relationship with God, others, or yourself as a result of reading this book? At the conclusion of the book I consecrated myself to Mary, meaning that I gave all my prayers, works, everything to her to distribute as she wishes. We “rely not on our own merits but on hers.”

Is there a final thought or insight you would like to share? Prayer is an act of trust. By praying to Mary, she brings us closer to Jesus. By consecrating myself to Mary, I learn to rely more on Jesus.


Is there a book you would like to share with the fraternity? If so, let me know by filling out the form below. Your responses will be edited for clarity and length.

Leave a Reply

